United Bank of India (UBI) was formed in 1950 and is headquartered in Kolkata, India. The bank operates under the umbrella of a a three-tier organisational setup. It includes head office in Kolkata, 36 regional offices, and 2,054 banking branches spread across India. The bank has a stronger presence in the Eastern India.

UBI also operates three full functional overseas branches in New Delhi, Kolkata, and Mumbai.

Listing and Revenue

United Bank of India is listed on both BSE and NSE.

Revenue ₹10,945 crore
Operating Income ₹1,412 crore
Net Income ₹-2,316 crore
Total Assets ₹151,530 crore

Products and Services

United Bank of India offers products and services like Credit cards, NRI Banking, Consumer banking, Corporate banking, Finance and Insurance, Mortgage loans, Private banking, Wealth management, Investment banking.


UBI was incorporated in 1950 after the merger of four Bengali banks including Comilla Banking Corporation, Bengal Central Bank, Comilla Union Bank, and Hooghly Bank. The bank was constituted under the supervision of the Reserve Bank of India.

In 1961, United Bank of India was merged with Tezpur Industrial Bank and Cuttack Bank. The bank's Pakistan branches over took over by the Pakistani government in the year 1965.


In 1973, UBI acquired Hindustan Mercantile Bank and in 1976, the bank bought Narang Bank of India.

Awards and Recognition

UBI has won National Award for the best bank for excellence in the field of Khadi and village industries for east and north east zones from the Ministry of MSME, Government of India in 2008.